Doctor’s Appt…

Today I have a pre-conception appt. with a Maternal Fetal Medicine (MFM) dr…it was the actual dr. that we met the day we got the bad news that I was having cervix issues…she was the one dr who was brutally honest with us about the likelihood of a positive outcome and at the time it was heartbreaking but we are the type of people who want to be told the realistic truth and not the rainbows & sunshine truth…well when I went to my ob/gyn for a follow-up he said I should speak to a MFM with regards to how to proceed or what our next steps should be…he asked which dr. we liked the best and I said which dr. and the reason was cause she was blunt and didnt sugar coat the situation…so now we are meeting this afternoon to see if a Transabdominal Cerclage (TAC) is the way to go…I know in my heart it is cause I cannot go through another loss…I would never be able to forgive myself if I had cervix issues with our next pregnancy…hubby thinks I need to keep an open mind but my mind is set…I know its drastic for some but I am not taking any chances…we have too much invested and the risk is too great that this will happen again…to lose one child is enough I dont think my mind, body and soul could bear another loss like that…I am excited and nervous all at the same time…at least hubby will be there with me and I hope that we are all on the same page…

oh and I called Dr. Davis…he is one of the leading TAC dr’s in the country….to see if my insurance will cover the surgery with him and he said it looks like he is out-of-network which I already knew…I have a $200 deductible but he has to check about this $1500 deductible for catasrophic care…no clue what that is…also he has to check and see how it works for payment…do we have to pay him in full and then we get reimbursed by the insurance company…he said he would take what the insurance company will pay in their fee schedule which is good to know…now after this appt. we have to decide on what we are going to do…if the MFM is onbard with the TAC then do we do the surgery with a dr. near us or do we go with dr. davis who is known for this surgery…we are lucky enough to be only 3 hrs from dr. davis and the dr. in our hospital is a pioneer in lap surgeries…I guess we shall see with this appt…either way I have to wait 6 weeks to have the surgery so the earliest would be 3/15 that I could have it done…we have some time…but I want to get it done earlier rather than later…

About

My name is Cindy

Posted in IVF, Pregnancy
One comment on “Doctor’s Appt…
  1. Marie says:

    Hi. I commented on your other blog. I am so sorry about the loss of Olivia. I have lost two babies to cervical incompetence. Because of the TAC, I am now looking at my almost two year old toddler. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

My Pinterest Style Board
http://www.pinterest.com/cszlaien/style
Iron Commenter Titanium Commentator

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 231 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 124,163 hits
In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Happy Family Blog

Celebrating Everyday

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Project Progeny

parenting after infertility: the blog formerly known as "The I Word"

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!

