Friday’s Appt…

was with the MFM which my ob/gyn recommended I see to discuss the TAC…it was called a pre-conception appt. and she basically started off saying they could either monitor me at 16 weeks and then decide how to go or to a prophylactic cerclage…I was confused by that statement since I thought she was the one who mentioned the TAC a month ago…I had to stop her and say well I want to get a TAC…she then said she doesnt do them and referred me to a different dr. I was taken aback and so was hubby since it felt like she thought we were wasting her time..she really couldnt answer any questions I had about the TAC…well I didnt have any questions but I know hubby did…finally hubby asked the question if getting a TAC was too aggressive and what she would recommend…her answer was under normal situations she would recommend a TVC but since I was being proactive she didnt see the harm in the TAC…she then said she couldnt guarantee that the TVC would hold and we wouldnt lose another child and if it gave me peace of mind then go for it…I was happy that my hubby heard that…I want him to know that I am not going way beyond extreme but I want to take every measure possible to ensure that my cervix is not an issue for a future pregnancy…the MFM was really nice in the end and didnt even charge us the co-pay since she really didnt do much but it was my ob/gyn who said I should go and see her…

My mind is now set and hubby is on board…we are going to have the TAC now the question is who and when??? I want to have it done by dr. davis who is one of best doctors in the country for this surgery and I have already been in contact with him over email and on the phone…we are checking my insurance to see what is covered and how much it will be since he is out-of-network for me…I am super lucky to have him within driving distance but I know of women who have flown across the country and from foreign countries to see him…I cannot have the surgery until 6 weeks after the loss so in 2 weeks I can have the surgery…I am happy to be making progress and keeping my mind busy on this is helpful

About

My name is Cindy

Posted in IVF, Pregnancy
6 comments on “Friday’s Appt…
  1. Krystyn says:

    I am having a TAC placed on June 3rd by Dr. Arthur Haney in Chicago (I am in NY). I too looked into Dr. Davis. If you want to chat feel free to email me at bringonthebabies@gmail.com

    • cindysn says:

      Thats great that you are having a TAC…Just wondering why you chose Haney? I am in NY as well and going with Davis since I can drive to him

      • Krystyn says:

        It really came down to who I am most comfortable with. Dr. Haney consulted with me back when I developed IC and went into preterm labor. He guided me to help me advocate for myself to my MFMs regarding certain aspects of my last pregnancy. He truly went out of his way to help me. He was my choice all along for the TAC but I wanted to consult with Dr. Davis as well. I sent him a couple of emails that went unanswered and that just gave me a bad feeling. I will say though that I have heard great things about Dr. Davis as well.

      • cindysn says:

        Oh ok…they are both great drs…did you have the surgery?

  2. Here via LFCA. I’m so sorry for the loss of your Olivia.

    I know a couple of women who’ve had TACs placed by Dr Haney and they love him. You’ve probably heard of the AbbyLoopers board before?

Leave a Reply

My Pinterest Style Board
http://www.pinterest.com/cszlaien/style
Iron Commenter Titanium Commentator

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 231 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 124,165 hits
In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Happy Family Blog

Celebrating Everyday

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Project Progeny

parenting after infertility: the blog formerly known as "The I Word"

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!

