PIO Injection Tips!!!

The dreaded Progesterone in Oil!!!!!!!!! Cue evil sound effect it would be mwahahahaha!!!!!!!!

Progesterone is produced by the corpus luteum in the ovary after ovulation. Since during a FET my ovaries are not producing progesterone we need to supplement. As an attempt to support the lining of the uterus and prepare for implantation, supplemental progesterone is used. Progesterone injections are usually continued until 10-12 weeks of pregnancy. The oil that holds the progesterone can make the shots uncomfortable.

Progesterone is given by intramuscular injection. The liquid is thicker (more viscous) than the other medications because it is in an oil solution (sesame oil, cotton seed oil, and ethyl oleate are common carriers for the progesterone). A large needle is used to pull the recommended dose into the needle. 1 mL is the most common dose when the progesterone is 50 mg/mL but you should verify the recommended dose with the clinic. Progesterone in oil must be given intramuscularly.

It was not as bad as I thought it would be..the painful part was when he first injected it but after that since he was slowly injecting and the PIO was warm I didnt really feel it…it could also be my fat ass that helped it but I am going with I am just that strong of a woman to take the pain, lol!!!

These were the tips that I used that made it easier for me:

Warm PIO when it is in syringe. I wrapped it in a heating pad for about 5 min. before injecting. Warming it helps liquify even more making it easier to go in.

I heated my butt as well to help the oil dissipate better

If you are standing up for injection. Put your weight on the leg of the side you are not using that time… it helps relax your other muscles on injections side.

Place your thumb and index finger together then place them on your skin and spread your fingers apart making the skin taunt between your fingers.

Dart the needle in instead of injecting slowly

After injecting, rub oil in/massage area. Then I put the heating pad on it for about 10 minutes to help it.

If you are doing PIO it really is not as bad as it seems since that damn needle is fucking huge…

About

My name is Cindy

Posted in IVF
8 comments on “PIO Injection Tips!!!
  1. I second these recommendations. Heating the oil before injecting is imperative. I also found throughout my cycles that sometimes it hurts worse than others. Good luck!

  2. JustHeather says:

    I never got to try PIO as my clinic didn’t use/recommend them, even when I asked. I did get to experience (many times) leaky progesterone. LOL
    Good luck!

  3. Lisa says:

    I’m glad you’re not finding it that bad. PIO nearly did me in, and I still have lingering numbness and pain in my lower back and hips (from November!!) My doctor let me do suppositories instead after that nonsense, but if I ever get knocked up I will have to switch to a twice weekly progesterone shot due to one of my many blood maladies. I can’t remember which one anymore. Hope the transfer went smoothly!

  4. I didn’t do any progesterone with my FETs, and I did Crinone with my only fresh cycle long ago.

    Have you seen the IVF Shoot ‘Em Up for PIO?

    http://ivfshootemup.blogspot.com.au/search/label/PIO

  5. Cat says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I will be using PIO for the first time in August and am kinda nervous about it.

Leave a Reply

In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Happy Family Blog

Celebrating Everyday

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Project Progeny

parenting after infertility: the blog formerly known as "The I Word"

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!

