National Infertility Awareness Week 2016

Its National Infertility Awareness Week and this years theme is #StartAsking

Every day people with infertility are asking questions.  “Why me?” “How can we afford this?” “Why don’t you understand?” National Infertility Awareness Week® is not only an opportunity to raise awareness about this disease, but also motivate all that are touched by infertility to commit to the cause.

What will YOU #StartAsking?  Use all your social networks, your platforms, and tell anyone ready to listen. Tell them you’re ready to #startasking the tough questions.

When I was first diagnosed with Infertility I was around 11 years old.  I was not diagnosed per se that I would be infertile but I had PCOS that would have a potential impact on my ability to conceive.  At 11 I had no idea what that would really mean to me when I got older and wanted to have kids.

When my husband and I decided we wanted to start trying to conceive I knew that it would not be easy but was hoping that it would not be too hard for us. I started asking all of those questions like how long will it take and what types of procedures would I need to assist in conceiving.

It took us over a year to conceive including having sex the old fashioned way, unmonitored clomid cycles with my OB (I know I was stupid) then 6 IUI’s with my RE, a failed IVF fresh transfer and then a FET that resulted in my daughter that I lost to IC.  Our following FET we conceived my now 2 yr old son. So our journey has been long for us but I know others that have had even longer journeys and are still on them.

I never once asked why me because why not me???

I am blessed to have all the positive things in my life and with all those positives I have PCOS.  I deal with it the best I can and that is all that I can do.  I have cried many times that I wish I never had PCOS but never said why did infertility have to happen to me.  Other things in my life I have questioned but infertility is not one of them.  Maybe because I have known about it for such a long time or maybe its because I was able to conceive and have a son.

I will always be an infertile no matter what and I want to spread the word that its nothing to be ashamed of.  There are many women that struggle in silence and they shouldn’t. Share your story because you may be sharing it with someone who is also struggling who needs to talk about and start asking those tough questions to your doctors and advocate for yourself.  You are your best advocate!!!

National Infertility Awareness Week 2016startasking-homepage-image

About

My name is Cindy

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in IVF/Infertility, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

In Quest of a Binky Moongee

The Journey of Making a Baby Despite the Diagnosis of Diminished Ovarian Reserve

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

From Portlandia to Walla-Where?

Creativity From Every Corner of the Northwest.

Happy Family Blog

Celebrating Everyday

Honeyblife

A healthy lifestyle made simple.

Hello My Name Is TUBELESS

a girl without fallopian tubes had a baby!

jonsie13

living in the middle | navigating infertility

gracefullyjason

the random ramblings of a stay-at-home-mom

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Ditch the Bun

Not your average Librarian

A Lot of Things

A little bit about a lot of things.

A Storybook Life

Because all stories are better with a few twists and turns.

Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

A blog about managing PCOS, motherhood, and marriage.

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Project Progeny

parenting after infertility: the blog formerly known as "The I Word"

Soulfood

Food & inspiration

The Dancing Egg

An IVF Story for the Over 40 Crowd

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Natural Verve

Simple enthusiasm for life's obsessions!

